MJG Reads: Into the water

Summer is the best time to finally catch up on the reading I want to do all year but I can never find the time. My first book of the summer was Into the Water by Paula Hawkins. Into the Water is a eerie tale uncovering the stories of missing women in the town. I found the entire story line of this book to be interesting because it was so different than anything I had read before. The book follows a multitude of characters as their stories intertwine to uncover what happened to a local woman named Nell and a young high school student. Many women have drowned inΒ  the town’s river or pool of water. All these women are very “troubled” and needed to be silenced because it could cause scandal. I found the whole plot of the book fascinating because these women were bold and honestly did nothing wrong but were silenced and killed to cover a man’s wrong doing. While both parties may have been doing something wrong or scandalous, it was the woman that paid the ultimate price.

This novel is very similar to Hawkins first novel in the style of writing. We have a lot of jumping around in characters and none of the characters are reliable. I honestly was not sure who to believe. There is quite a bit of character change at the beginning and it was a little hard to remember who everyone was so I was constantly going to back to refresh my memory.

All in all, I would highly recommend this book. I finished it in a weekend because I wanted to know what happened to all these characters who mysteriously went missing. Hawkins will keep you on the edge of your seat until the very last line (I am not exaggerating!)

Leave a Reply

