Cape Lookout Lighthouse

CL_MJG10
Shirt: J. Crew, Skirt: J. Crew, Shoes: Jack Rogers, Bracelets: Bourbon and Bowties

Last week my boyfriend and I traveled to North Carolina. We made a stop at Cape Lookout Lighthouse off of Harker’s Island. It was one of the coolest national features I have had the pleasure of seeing. We traveled to Harker’s Island by ferry which ended really being a speedboat. The drive showed us all the little towns and stopping to tell the history. Taking the ferry did save us time and ended up being about 45 minutes from Beaufort because of the speed limit in the wake zone. Once at the lighthouse we were on our own to explore and roam the property. While there you can picnic or swim at the beach, explore the keeper’s house, and climb the lighthouse.

CL_MJG5

CL_MJG6

CL_MJG7

CL_MJG8

CL_MJG9

CL_MJG2

CL_MJG3

CL_MJG13

CL_MJG15

CL_MJG16

Cape Lookout Lighthouse was built in 1812 which made me a little paranoid climbing up but it was so worth it. I am not really a heights person but at the top the view was so spectacular it was easy to ignore my fear. Climbing up the 12 story lighthouse was a little easier than I thought. If you are considering this trip make sure to be hydrated and bring water with you. I was extremely glad I packed some with me. All in all, the experience was well worth it and I loved the rich background of the lighthouse and why they used them. We also walked around the keeper’s house which is where the people who lit the lighthouse lived during the 1800s.

You may be reading thinking this trip went really smoothly. I’ll tell you it did not because the boat broke down halfway there which really made the trip at longer than expected. Oh well, one day we will laugh about it!

signature

 

One thought on “Cape Lookout Lighthouse

  1. Pingback: Wrapping up 2016

Leave a Reply

